Fried chicken goodness – Crispy, spicy, juicy and comforting

22163859_10154819986736969_311042029_oFried Chicken and I have an endless love story, I am always on the look out for the best fried chicken recipe and today I had the perfect excuse to make some I had 2 chicken thighs and 2 wings that I had to cook today, of course the most sane decision would be fry them up, I did cut the thighs into 3 pieces sectioned of the drumstick and cut the thigh in half to reduce the cooking time in oil (learning from my previous mistakes) then marinated the chicken in the below ingredients:

  1. 4 tbs yogurt (non sweetened and slightly tangy)
  2. 2 tsp red pepper flakes (it was spicy and good!)
  3. 2 tsp sweet smoked paprika
  4. 2 gloves finely chopped garlic
  5. 1/2 squeezed lemon
  6. 2 tsp Arabic spice mix (you can substitute with all spice and nutmeg)
  7. Salt to taste
  8. Flour for dredging
  9. Vegetable oil for frying

Directions:

Marinate the chicken with the above ingredients except for flour and oil of course for at least 2 hours or over night then dredge with flour (sprinkled with little salt).

Preheat the oil, the way I know if the oil have reached the right temperature is I add a small piece of bread and when it starts to bubble and rises to the top then I know its time to start frying, usually I fry the pieces that take longer first where the oil is clear and can stand heat.

https://instagram.com/p/9OI483Kav3/?taken-by=tameed1985

You can leave the fried chicken on a wire rack in a warm oven, if you don’t have an oven rack like me I crinkled a sheet of aluminum foil to create different heights and then placed the chicken on top this will allow the heat to go all around the chicken, keep it warm and crispy.

IMG_0037

Love,

Procrastinator Cook!

2 thoughts on “Fried chicken goodness – Crispy, spicy, juicy and comforting

Leave a comment