Jajangmyeon (자장면)- Black Bean noodles

DSC00926The other day while I was walking in my local supermarket, I noticed that the Asian isle got new products, of course I immediately felt like a kid in a candy store.

To my excitement I found fermented black bean paste, which I was craving for some time now, I am not quite sure if it is the same as the Korean Jajangmyeon (in Korean Jajang= Balck bean sauce, myeon= noodles) is slightly bitter where you should cook off that bitterness, so I tasted the paste and it didn’t taste bitter at all to me it tasted heavenly, I actually wanted to slather it on almost everything.

DSC00925

 

What is Jajangmyeon? well it’s actually a Chinese dish that is widely popular in DSC00928south Korea, it consists of a delicious fermented black bean sauce cooked with pork belly, vegetables and served on top of special noodles or rice, sometimes seafood are added and it is always accompanied with yellow pickled radish, onions, and extra black bean paste.

???????????????????????????????Jajangmyeon is addictive, satisfying and super easy. Since Korean ingredients are hard to find in my region I decided to use some pad thai noodles instead.  I also used lamb because its fatty and would give me the desired result as pork belly (oh I wish I could find me some pork belly in Jordan :().

Ingredients:

  1.        350 gm Lamb chunks
  2.        Vegetable oil for stir fry
  3.        1 Diced onion
  4.        1 Diced zucchini
  5.        1 Diced carrot
  6.        3 Tbs Black Bean Paste (it was garlic flavored yumm!)
  7.        3 cups of boiling (or hot) water
  8.        Sesame oil
  9.        2 Tbs of cornstarch dissolved in ¼ cup water and 1 tsp of sugar in a cup, set aside
  10.    Julienned cucumber, carrots and pickled radishes for garnish.

*The Jordanian pickled radishes have a deep purple color, because of the beets added to the pickling process.

Directions:

  1. In a wok or a deep large skillet add oil and stir fry the meat to give it a nice golden sear, then add all of the veggies and stir fry for 2-3 minutes.
  2. Make a well in the wok/ skillet and add a little bit of oil and cook the black bean paste, then slowly incorporate it with the rest of the meat and veggies.
  3. Add 3 cups of boiling water and let it simmer until the meat is tender.
  4. Mix the cornstarch, sugar and water and add to the boiling mixture when it is fully cooked, boil for a minute or so to cook off the cornstarch flavor.
  5. You can adjust the seasoning at this point depending on how salty your black bean paste is, I added more soy sauce, but next time I will be adding more black bean paste from the beginning instead of soy.
  6. Turn off the heat and drizzle a couple of drops of sesame oil.
  7. Cook the noodles as instructed on the packet, then top with the thick sauce and serve.

If you can find Jajangmyeon noodles it would be sooooooo much better because I wasn’t really a fan of the rice thai noodles (I think its my mistake I over cooked them!). But once I let the noodles sit in the sauce for a while it tasted way better soaking up the deliciousness of the black bean sauce.

The next day I ate the rest of the sauce with white rice, which is usually called “Jajangbap: Bap meaning rice in Korean” and it was out of this world I ate it for three days straight and as I am writing this post I am actually dreaming of the savory black bean sauce I could literary wipe out the whole plate.

One thought on “Jajangmyeon (자장면)- Black Bean noodles

Leave a Reply

