Chicken liver with a tangy pomegranate molasses sauce

DSC00914Before you get all squeamish hear me out here, I, like most of you have never liked chicken liver mainly due to the eww factor and the fact that I didn’t like the texture of the liver, but once my mom made this recipe where it combined the crunch, the tangy, sweet and salty flavors I changed my mind and devoured the whole dish.

This recipe is VERY easy and fast, probably you have tried it at a Middle DSC00920Eastern restaurant thinking “wow, how did they get that incredible taste?” well I will tell you how! so you could recreate this middle eastern experience right in the comfort of your own homes, your welcome :).

Ingredients:

  1. 2 plates of fresh chicken liver (frozen are fine defrost them though).
  2. Vegetable oil (preferably an oil with a neutral flavor and a high smoking point).
  3. Pomegranate molasses
  4. Bharat (Arabic spice blend) (You can substitute the bharat with crushed black pepper and/or all spice, cinnamon and a touch of grated nutmeg.)
  5. Flat leaf parsley
  6. Pomegranate seeds

Directions:

  1. In a wide pan on high heat add the oil and the livers, season with salt and bharat, don’t move them around so they could get really crispy (Tip: I usually cover my pan with a piece of foil paper to prevent splattering because boy will they spit and splatter all over your stove top!).
  2. Once you get the desired doneness for your livers (I prefer to cook them all the way through 12-15 minutes) add the pomegranate molasses enough to make a sauce, if you like more sauce add more and let it bubble for a second (seriously just heat the sauce that’s it), it will loosen up a bit and coat the crunchy chicken livers nicely.
  3. Garnish with parsley pomegranate seeds and/or chopped up green onions.
  4. Then SERVE.

DSC00905It can be served hot, room temperature or cold! with some crispy radishes, and flat bread, or you can eat it with a fork accompanied by a glass of wine.

What to do if you don’t have pomegranate molasses?

Pomegranate molasses substitutes:

  • one way is to make your own: In a deep sauce pan add 4 cups of pomegranate juice, 1/2 cup sugar and 1/4 cup lemon juice, heat and stir until sugar is dissolved, then lower to simmer until it thickens and reduces in volume and becomes like a syrup (it can be stored in the fridge).
  • Red wine! yes everything tastes so much better when cooked with wine 😉
  • A squeeze of a lemon or any tangy sauce will work well in my opinion. Be creative and mix up this recipe and tell me how it turns out.

Oh one last thought! I prefer certain brands of molasses as they are tangier and taste better in my opinion.

DSC00908DSC00919 DSC00922 DSC00918

3 thoughts on “Chicken liver with a tangy pomegranate molasses sauce

  1. Sadia Mohamed says:

    Wooow that looks amazing. To be frank, i am not a big fan of chicken liver but this looks like a winner. My husband luvs chicken liver. I will save this recipe for him. Btw superb presentation. 🙂

    Like

    • procrastinatorcook says:

      Thank you so much Sadia! I agree with you I never liked chicken liver but when my mom made it this way I loved it! I actually was worried how will I shoot chicken liver!! lol … Hope you make it and tell me how it turns out …

      Like

Leave a Reply

