Nigella’s triple Chocolate Chip Brownies

DSC00861When you feel that your world is crashing down and the light at the end of the tunnel is disappearing, when you are hopeless and weak, triple chocolate brownies is the only thing that could pull you out of your endless misery :P.

Nigella’s triple Chocolate brownie recipe is moist, decadent (without being too sweet) with a bit of a crunch and ever so comforting.

Since I decided to lead a healthier life, making better life choices regarding food and exercise I decided to make half the quantity 😀 of Nigella’s recipe for my brother’s birthday.

At the moment I am looking into more healthier baking recipes where I can use avocado, apple sauce and other healthy ingredients, so I could enjoy my sweet treats without having it wreck havoc on my weight loss journey,  I will be keeping you guys posted on my attempts :).

So here is my modified version:

  1. 1 1/2 stick unsalted butter
  2. 6 ounces 70% cocoa dark chocolate Lindt (use only the best quality don’t even think of skimping here).
  3. 3 eggs
  4. 1 cup sugar
  5. 1/2 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
  6. 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  7. 1/2 teaspoon salt
  8. 1/4 cup white chocolate chips
  9. 1/4 cup semisweet chocolate buttons

I used a rounded baking tin (approximately 7 inches), sides and base lined with aluminum foil (I oiled and floured the foil as I can never be to cautious).

Directions: This is the easiest brownies ever all you have to do is:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 F (my oven has a mind of its own so I turn it on full blast and hope for the best.)
  2. In a bain-marie melt the Lindt (roughly chopped or broken into pieces) and butter.
  3. Allow the chocolate mixture to cool a bit, beat the eggs like a maniac one at a time so you don’t end up with chocolate scrambled eggs.
  4. Add the rest of the ingredients from 4 to 7, mix with a spatula, leave one tbs of flour to dust the chocolate chips, mix the floured chocolate chips into the batter until well combined.
  5. Pour in a baking tin, if the batter is a bit solid just gently spread it with a spatula.
  6. Bake for 20 -25 minutes (mine took 35 because as I said my oven is stubborn and uncooperative, it doesn’t distribute heat properly it lowers and increases the flames without any prior notice, Ughh!! you get the picture).

Your heart will tell you when they are done, or when the top is cracked and dry and the center is slightly gooey and chocolaty when inserted with a toothpick.

The taste is out of this world, delicious dark lindt, mixed with the small specks of white and bitter sweet chocolate (I used Hershey), it is moist, crunchy chocolate chips and ever so sinful, you can of-course add walnuts or any kind of nut as well.

collection

2 thoughts on “Nigella’s triple Chocolate Chip Brownies

Leave a Reply

