Rice Pudding with Rose Water and Mastic – My recipe for Jamie Oliver’s Competition

DSC00506Last week I was scrolling down my YouTube account and all of a sudden I saw a video about a cooking contest from Jamie Oliver’s Food Tube channel, the contest is that you should film yourself cooking a recipe with rice being part of it upload it to your YouTube channel and send the link to Jamie Oliver’s team, then they will pick 5 finalists and will feature their recipes on the Food Tube channel for people to vote on which recipe they liked best!

I was jumping out of joy and excitement, except I was at office so I was jumping figuratively speaking.

And immediately I started thinking of ideas, but I had several problems, as the video is preferred to be no longer than 4 minutes, and I have no editing skills whatsoever, even if I knew how to edit my old laptop is not cooperative at all, nonetheless that didn’t stop me, so my creative team and I (AKA my mother) started to brainstorm for the perfect recipe.

What’s more exciting is you can enter the contest in more than one recipe, so I chose the Rice Pudding with Rose Water and Mastic as my first entry, in the coming weeks I will film more recipes and send them, who know I might just win or not ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC00507

Ingredients:

  1. 1/4 cup of short grain rice (Soaked in water then drained)
  2. 1/2 liter of full fat milk
  3. handful of currents
  4. 3 tbs sugar
  5. 2 small balls of mastic
  6. splash of rose water
  7. Chopped almonds
  8. Chopped walnuts
  9. Chopped Pistachios
  10. Cinnamon

DSC00503

Directions:

  1. Place your mastic in a plastic bag and lightly crush them.
  2. Add all of the ingredients in a saucepan, make sure there is room for the milk to boil.
  3. Cook on a medium heat keep an eye on it, stirring every couple of minutes to avoid the rice from sticking and the milk from burning.
  4. turn off the heat when the rice is cooked and when you reach the desired consistency for your rice pudding, mine took 15-18 minutes.
  5. It can be eaten hot, warm, or cold I prefer mine at room temperature, dust with cinnamon and top with almonds, walnuts and pistachios.
6 thoughts on “Rice Pudding with Rose Water and Mastic – My recipe for Jamie Oliver’s Competition

  1. Eman says:

    OMG! I’m very happy and excited that I found your blog today through PalestineFood FB page. Your blog is amazing and your posts are very well-written.

    Ruz b’halib is my favorite dessert of all times.. light, healthy, and still very tasty.. Next time I’m doing it I’ll make sure to add “mastic”. And I would suggest to add some coconuts (unless you don’t like it).

    All the best with the contest, I might participate myself so I think you got some competition ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Keep blogging!

    Like

    • procrastinatorcook says:

      Thank you Eman for your sweet reply! am sorry that it took me a while to reply… well adding coconuts sounds very tasty I will certainly try it next time I make it … The competition closed in Sep ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but I suggest you subscribe to his YouTube channel http://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOliver because they regularly hold other competitions. Thank you again for reading my blog and for taking the time to leave a comment it really means a lot to me …

      Like

    • procrastinatorcook says:

      You are welcome ๐Ÿ™‚ Did you make it? how did it turn out?
      I have been away from my blog for a while now, but am back now and will be posting a couple of new recipes… Thank you for stopping by and commenting, do you have any recipe in particular that you would like to learn?

      Like

Leave a Reply

